3 First Aid Acronyms Everybody Should Know

Saesha Kukreja
4 min readFeb 2, 2021
Image by Canva

Let’s be real, sometimes in our fast paced lives we don’t always have the time to do everything we want. When it comes to me, I’ve been wanting to take a Standard First Aid & CPR course forever, but of course in the midst of online learning and filling out college applications I haven’t exactly gotten the time.

Lucky for me, in my Kinesiology class we’ve just happened to be discussing sports injuries, and specifically, First Aid Acronyms that you should use in the case of an emergency. So let me share with you 3 easy to remember and helpful First Aid Acronyms that I think you should know!

SHARP

Image by Author

SHARP is an acronym used to gauge the common signs of infection. Each letter represents the signs and symptoms of the the initial stage of the inflammatory/acute stage of an injury.

Swelling

  • White blood cells and fluid pool up in the area of the injury
  • Serves to protect the individual from further injury
  • Apply ice and pressure to reduce swelling

Heat

  • Caused by increased blood flow and inflammation

--

--

Saesha Kukreja

Biology Major 🔬/ Author of Quaranteen 🖋/ Avid Reader and Bibliophile 📚