Thanksgiving Dinner

Saesha Kukreja
6 min readOct 9, 2023

Thanksgiving Dinner was selected as a finalist in The Green Shoe Sanctuary’s 2021 Summer Prompt Contest.

Image by Syracuse

“Yeah, I uh…I don’t think we’ll be able to make it to Thanksgiving this year.” I clasp my lips, waiting for a response.

“Why not?”

“Steven, he…” I trail off for a second.

“…he surprised us with Disney tickets this year.” I smile fakely as if she can see me through the phone.

“Oh, that’s great, honey!” she exclaims.

“It is. Polly is so excited.”

“Well, I am so happy for you. Tell me how it all goes, alright?”

“I will.”

“Good. Bye now!”

Click.

I sigh as I settle the phone down. I get up to leave when my foot lands on a sharp shard of glass. Crap. I forgot about the broken window.

I let out a yelp as I reached to grab my foot. Streaks of red blood pour out of the base of my foot, now dripping on the ground.

Crap. Crap. Crap.

I lunge with my good foot to grab a rag off the kitchen counter and swipe at my foot and then the ground. I hobble my way to the medicine cabinet to grab the antiseptic spray.

--

--

Saesha Kukreja

Biology Major 🔬/ Author of Quaranteen 🖋/ Avid Reader and Bibliophile 📚